Arbourthorne electors are being encouraged to make their vote count in the local by-election next month.

Sheffield City Council will hold the by-election on Thursday 6 February 2014 following the death of Councillor John Robson, who lost his battle with cancer in October. He has served as a councillor in the area for 10 years.

Voting will take place at various polling stations within the Arbourthorne ward and voters must be registered to be able to take part.

John Mothersole, Chief Executive at Sheffield City Council said:

“Due to the sad death of Councillor John Robson a vacancy in the Arbourthorne area is now available and we will be holding a by-election to fill this.

Poll cards will be delivered to electors in the Arbourthorne ward by Friday 10 January and will show which polling station voters should go to in order to vote. All polling stations are open from 7am until 10pm and you don’t need to take your polling card with you to vote.

We hope to see as many people as possible turn out to vote for their chosen candidate.”

If you are not currently registered, the deadline for making an application in time to vote at this election is Wednesday 22 January 2014.

The deadline for new postal vote applications, or for changes to existing postal vote arrangements, is also 5pm on Wednesday 22 January 2014.

The results of the Arbourthorne by-election will be announced on 6 February 2014.

The list of candidates for the Arbourthorne ward are as follows:

  • Jennyfer Marie Andrea Barnard – Green party
  • Mike Drabble – Labour party
  • Alan Thornton Munro – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts
  • Susan Elizabeth Ross – Liberal Democrat
  • Bob Sheridan – UKIP
  • Peter Richard Smith – Conservative party
  • David Basil Wildgoose – English Democrats

For more information about voting call Sheffield City Council’s elections helpline on (0114) 273 4093 or visit