The seven award categories are split by age group, with three books shortlisted in each category to give every child a wide range of literature to choose from.
The categories include: baby books, toddler books, picure books, emerging reads, shorter novels, longer reads and young adult books.

Councillor Mary Lea, Cabinet Member for Culture, Parks and Leisure, said:

Since 1988, the Children‘s Book Award have encouraged children, young people and families across Sheffield to get involved in reading and celebrating the wide variety of literature and illustration on offer.

It’s brilliant that thirty years on, thousands of children are taking part in the Awards; sharing their favourite books and inspiring others to read too.

The Sheffield Children’s Book Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday 16th November at the Lyceum Theatre in Sheffield. This is an invited audience including hundreds of the children who have been involved.

Past winners of the Sheffield Children’s Book Awards attending the 2018 ceremony include: Kes Gray, author of Eat your Peas, Elizabeth Laird, author of Kiss the Dust, Jeanne Willis, author of Who’s In the Loo?, Nick Sharratt illustrator of Eat Your Peas and Double Act and author of A Cheese and Tomato Spider, as well as Michael Rosen, author of Uncle Gobb and the Dreadshed.

2018 shortlist:

Baby Books (0-3 years)

·         Outdoors by Mel Four

·         Bedtime with Ted by Sophy Henn

·         Milo’s Mix and Match by Faye Williamson

Toddler Books (3-5 years)

·         Hole in the Zoo by Chloe and Mick Inkpen

·         Yoga Babies by Fearne Cotton

·         My Incredible Knitting Nanna by Rowena Blyth

Picture Books (5-7 years)

·         Perfectly Normal by Tom Percival

·         Game of Stones by Rebecca Lisle & Richard Watson

·         Daisy Doodle by Michelle Robinson & Irene Dickson & Tom Weller

Emerging Reads (7-9 years)

·         Billy & the Mini Monsters/Monsters in the Dark by Zanna Davidson & Melanie Williams

·         Press Start by Thomas Flintham

·         My Brother’s Famous Bottom Makes a Splash by Jeremy Strong & Rowan Clifford

Shorter Novels (9-11 years)

·         The Tale of Angelino Brown by David Almond

·         Letters From the Lighthouse by Emma Carroll

·         A Place Called Perfect by Helena Duggan

Longer Novels (11-14 years)

·         Kick by Mitch Johnson

·         The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

·         Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

Young Adults (14+)

·         We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan

·         Encounters by Jason Wallace

·         After the Fire by Will Hill

More information about Sheffield Children’s Book Awards can be found here: